# GFA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Saturday August 26th 2017

# **Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre.**

33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049 Ph: 03 9333 2200

Members are advised that the GFA Annual General Meeting will be held at the **Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre** 33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria on Saturday 26<sup>th</sup> August 2016.

# **PROGRAM**

The GFA AGM will commence at 3.30pm through to 4:00pm.

### Members Forum: 4:00pm - 5:30pm

In conjunction with the AGM we will be running a *Members Forum* where the GFA board will provide an update of important projects and where members will be able to seek details and provide input:

- Simulator project. Update and implementation plans
- Members Survey: Feedback
- Soaring to the Future (S2F): Launch of this membership development project
- **Promotional videos:** Launch of two videos aimed at Youth and Women, featuring Matthew Scutter and Andrea Johnson. Filmed at the Benalla WGC and Alice Springs GC.
- Open questions: Ask questions of the Board

## **Awards Dinner:**

The annual awards dinner will run from 6:30pm-11:00pm. Celebrate a great year with those volunteers who have made a significant contribution to our sport.

You will need to **book** for the Awards Dinner via the GFA shop at a cost of \$45 per person. <a href="https://www.store.glidingaustralia.org/index.php/gfa-events">https://www.store.glidingaustralia.org/index.php/gfa-events</a>. We also ask that you **register** for the AGM and Members Forum to ensure we have enough seating and afternoon tea available.

#### **Election of President/Vice President/Treasurer:**

Any member of the GFA is eligible to nominate for the position of President or Vice President or Treasurer. The nomination form can be found here <a href="http://tinyurl.com/hnpjckf">http://tinyurl.com/hnpjckf</a> and requires support from two Board members.

The nomination form should be submitted to the GFA Secretary by email to <a href="mailto:secretary@glidingaustralia.org">secretary@glidingaustralia.org</a> or by mail to the GFA office not less than 7 days before the day of the meeting.

These positions are elected by the new GFA board at the meeting on Sunday 27<sup>th</sup> August, following appointment of the Board at the AGM.

President Mandy Temple has indicated that she will stand down at this meeting in order to manage the GFA Soaring to the Future Project, so we need nominees for all three leadership positions.

All 12 month flying members and 12 month junior members of the GFA are entitled to vote at the AGM.

If you cannot attend in person then you may nominate a proxy using the GFA proxy form which is located on the web page. Click Docs/Forms then Forms/admin forms. Or use this link: <a href="http://tinyurl.com/hnpjckf">http://tinyurl.com/hnpjckf</a>

The proxy form should be submitted to the GFA Secretary by email to <a href="mailto:secretary@glidingaustralia.org">secretary@glidingaustralia.org</a> or by mail to the GFA office not less than 48 hours before the day of the meeting. If you wish to nominate the GFA secretary as your proxy then you can send without the proxy signature and I will sign on receipt.

The AGM Agenda, Previous minutes, Presidents report and Financial report will be progressively available on the GFA web page. Click Docs/Forms then Documents/Minutes/AGM or use this link <a href="http://tinyurl.com/AGM-2017-Docs">http://tinyurl.com/AGM-2017-Docs</a>

Terry Cubley GFA Secretary Ph 04 0808 5988

# **Agenda**

- 1. Opening of 2017 Annual General Meeting
- 2. Appointment of Minute Secretary
- 3. Record of members present
- 4. Receipt of Apologies
- 5. Appointment of Proxies
- 6. Receipt and Adoption of the 2015 Annual General Meeting Minutes
- 7. Presidents Report
- 8. Appointment of Regional Board Members
  - 8.1. Board Member & alternate NSW: Chris Stephens & Ian Caldwell
  - 8.2. Board Member & alternate QLD: Lindsay Mitchell and Kerry Klein
  - 8.3. Board Member & alternate SA/NT: Brenton Swart and Reg Moore
  - 8.4. Board Member & alternate VIC/TAS: Ian Grant
  - 8.5. Board Member & alternate WA: Owen Jones and Tom Holt
  - 8.6. Junior Gliding Club nominee Nick Mather
- 9. Ratify Heads of department (nominated by peer groups)

9.1 Chair of Airworthiness Andrew Simpson
 9.2 Chair of Operations Drew McKinnie
 9.3 Chair of Sports Jenny Thompson
 9.4 Chair of Marketing and Development Ian Caldwell

**10.** Ratify Appointment of Regional Officers (nominated jointly by regions and department) (This list is correct at 18/06/16. There may be some changes by the AGM)

#### 10.1 RTO/ Airworthiness

Deputy CAD
New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia

Rob Hanbury; Anthony Smith Arnie Hartley, Colin Veal Phil Organ David Villiers Derek Spencer, John Hudson Alan Arthur

#### 10.2 Regional Managers Operations

New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Alan Payne
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia
Pat Barfield
Alan Payne
Paul Mason / Tom Leech
Allan Gartland

#### 10.3 Safety Management System

National Safety Manager
New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Victoria/Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia
Stuart Ferguson
Vacant
Mark White
Gary Chaplin
Patrick Pulis
Phil Dodd

#### 10.4 Airfields, Airspace and Avionics

National Airfields, Airspace and Avionics Officer
New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia

Graham Brown
vacant
Selwyn Ellis
Mike Truitt
Geoff Wood
Kevin Saunders

#### 10.5 RTOs, Sport

New South Wales
Victoria/Tasmania
Matt Gage
Queensland
South Australia/Northern Territory
Western Australia
Junior Sports

Matt Gage
Miles Gore Brown
Peter Temple
Greg Beecroft
vacant

#### 10.6 RDOs, Development

New South Waleslan CaldwellVictoria/TasmaniavacantQueenslandKerry KleinSouth Australia/Northern TerritoryEric StaussWestern AustraliaDavid FosdickWomen in Gliding RepresentativeWendy MedlicottSpecialist. Web managerSean Young

#### 10.7 Other Officers

National Competitions Committee chair
International Teams Committee chair
National Coaching Director
Miles Gore-Brown
John Buchanan
Beryl Hartley
FAI Records
IGC Representative
Trophies and Awards
Tom Claffey
Miles Gore-Brown
John Buchanan
Beryl Hartley
Terny Cubley
Trim Shirley

# 11. Receipt and Adoption of the Association's Statement of Accounts and

**Auditor's report:** Moved that the 2016/17 GFA Financial Statement be approved:

# **12. Appointment of auditors:** Moved that NMM AUDIT AND ASSURANCE PTY LTD be appointed as auditors for 2017/18.

#### 13. Closure of the Annual General Meeting